Cupcake Wars: Georgetown Cupcake vs. Sprinkles Cupcakes

Two weeks ago, I found myself in Washington, D.C. for the day with my mom. Being the cupcake aficionados that we are, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to grab some cupcakes while we were there.

We swung by Georgetown Cupcake and after much deliberation, I decided on a Honey Banana and my mom decided on a Milk Chocolate Birthday.

But then, we decided that we should compare Georgetown Cupcake to another legendary bakery, Sprinkles Cupcakes. We got the most comparable cupcakes to our Georgetown picks, so I ended up with a Banana Dark Chocolate and my mom got a Vanilla Milk Chocolate (without the sprinkles).

In 2008, sisters Katherine Berman and Sophie LaMontagne opened their first cupcake shop in the heart of Georgetown. Two years later, TLC’s “DC Cupcakes,” featuring Georgetown Cupcake became an instant hit, making Georgetown Cupcake a destination for locals and tourists alike. There are currently five Georgetown Cupcake Locations.

Sprinkles Cupcakes was founded in 2005 by Candace Nelson in Beverly Hills. They boast of being the world’s first cupcake bakery and first cupcake ATM. There are currently 12 Sprinkles Bakeries throughout the United States.

Taste Test: Bananna Cupcakes

I was expecting to like Sprinkles’ Banana Dark Chocolate more than the Honey Banana, but surprisingly, I preferred Georgetown Cupcake’s Honey Banana. The cupcake itself was more moist and had a better banana flavor. The real surprise was in the icing, though. I love chocolate, but surprisingly, I really preferred the vanilla cream cheese icing at Georgetown Cupcake. I felt like the chocolate icing at Sprinkles was a little too sweet and that it overpowered the taste of the cupcake.

Verdict: Georgetown Cupcake

Taste Test: Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Icing

My mom preferred Sprinkles’ Vanilla Milk Chocolate to Georgetown Cupcake’s Milk Chocolate Birthday. “Georgetown Cupcake’s was just sort of bland,” she said. Sprinkles’ chocolate icing was a richer chocolate, and the cupcake was more flavorful.

Verdict: Sprinkles

Other Facts

We paid $6.05 for two cupcakes at Georgetown Cupcake ($2.75 each + tax) and $7.00 ($3.50 each with no tax) at Sprinkles, but the cupcakes at Georgetown Cupcake are significantly smaller than the ones at Sprinkles.

We went on a Monday afternoon, so there wasn’t a line at either place, however, when I went on a Saturday evening several weeks before, both bakeries had lines out the door. Sprinkles’ line was several people long, but seemed to move quickly as I watched, however, Georgetown Cupcake’s line was a block long, and took two hours to get through.

Final Verdict

It’s a toss up! You could go to either one and receive excellent service and a delicious cupcake.

Georgetown Cupcake was my first cupcake experience in D.C. (and all of my experiences there have been positive), so I guess I’ll probably always be a little biased toward them–But, if I were cramped for time (and there was a significant line at Georgetown), I would go to Sprinkles in a heartbeat.

georgetown v sprinkles

These are my personal opinions. Neither Georgetown Cupcake nor Sprinkles Cupcakes know who I am.

Leave a Reply

