A few of my favorite things: 2012 in review

I spent several hours deciding the best way to sum up this past year in a blog post. I could write a long, sentimental post spelling out the lessons learned or I could rehash the joys and heartaches of the past 12 months. Since this year has been filled with so many new experiences, I decided that perhaps sharing my favorite things  might be the best way to give you a taste of my year.

Favorite Places

Washington, D.C. Charleston, SC. Capitol Hill Baptist Church (D.C.). Eastern Market (D.C.).

The Washington Monument, Washington, D.C.; The Capitol Building, Washington, D.C.; The Atlas Theater (H Street, Washington, D.C.); Charleston, S.C.

The Washington Monument, Washington, D.C.; The Capitol Building, Washington, D.C.; The Atlas Theater (H Street, Washington, D.C.); Charleston, S.C.

Favorite Restaurants

Spize (Downtown Raleigh). H &Pizza (D.C.). Tortilla Cafe (D.C.). Georgetown Cupcake (D.C.).

Favorite “Firsts”

First time living in an apartment.

First country concert–Jake Owen at the North Carolina State Fair.

Jake Owen Concert at the North Carolina State Fair

Jake Owen Concert at the North Carolina State Fair

Favorite Songs

10,000 Reasons, Matt Redmond. Behold Our God, Sovereign Grace Music. Barefoot Blue Jean Night, Jake Owen. Wanted, Hunter Hayes. Cruise, Florida Georgia Line. Life Ain’t Always Beautiful, Gary Allen. Honey Bee, Blake Shelton.

Favorite New Tradition

Elf on the Shelf

Our Elf on the Shelf

Our Elf on the Shelf

Favorite Movie

Les Misérables.

Favorite Hobby

Cupcake Decorating.

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

Favorite Food

Sushi

Favorite TV Shows

Downton Abbey. White Collar. Hart of Dixie. The Mentalist.

Favorite Blogs

Our Single Purpose: I especially liked “Top 10 Perks to the Single Woman’s Life,” “The Art of Forgiveness” and “Getting Over Him.”

The Small Things Blog.

Smart, Pretty and Awkward.

Favorite Verses

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand, do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:4-7

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will hear you. You will seek Me and find Me, when you seek Me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. Psalm 103:1-5

For You have been my help, and in the shadow of Your wings I will sing for joy. My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me. Psalm 63:7-8

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14

3 responses

Leave a Reply

